Women's Championship Awards Passed Out to Recipients

Thursday, April 26, 2012

MACON, Ga. - Following the conclusion of the 2012 Atlantic Sun Conference Track & Field Championship, four awards from the outdoor meet were voted on by the league coaches. Jacksonville claimed two awards with Akeela Bravo and Ron Grigg, while Lipscomb's Kendra Lobley and North Florida's Brianna Frazier also earned A-Sun Championship honors.

Bravo picked up her second A-Sun Championship award as she was voted the Most Outstanding Field Performer by league coaches. At the A-Sun Championship, Bravo was also named the Most Outstanding Performer by earning the most points of any student-athlete. The junior thrower earned two gold medals; shot put and hammer throw, while garnering silver in the discus. Her toss of 52.85m in the hammer ranks as the second-best in A-Sun history, while her 44.80 throw in the discus is third-best. Her shot put performance ranks eighth.

Lipscomb's Lobley earned the first A-Sun Championship honor for LU in the program's history as she was named the Most Outstanding Freshman Performer. Lobley competed in two events at the league championship and came away with decisive victories in both. Her time of 17:16.69 in the 5,000-meter run ranks as the ninth-best in league history as she crossed the finish line nearly 13 seconds ahead of second place. Lobley's most dominant run was the 3,000m steeplechase where she set the A-Sun Championship record by five seconds (10:32.97) and won the race by 22.26 seconds.

Last year's Most Outstanding Freshman Performer, UNF's Frazier earned the Most Outstanding Track Performer after earning three first-place finishes. The sophomore's time of 23.66 in the 200-meter dash and 53.83 in the 400m both rank as the fourth-fastest in A-Sun Championship history. Frazier owns the sixth-fastest time nationally in the 400m and 28th-best time in the 200m. Frazier capped her weekend standout performance with the anchor leg of the 4x400m relay to guide the Ospreys to first-place in a time of 3:43.47 - the fifth-best time in league history. Frazier also placed fifth in the triple jump.

For the seventh-straight year, Jacksonville Head Coach Ron Grigg received the A-Sun Coach of the Year honors after leading the Dolphins to a conference outdoor title. The seven-straight A-Sun Championship titles set a conference record. JU won the league title by 91 points.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region:Belmont University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.