Four Schools Qualify for NCAA Women's East Region

Thursday, May 19, 2011

MACON, Ga. – Thirteen Atlantic Sun Conference Women’s Track and Field Student-Athletes qualified for the NCAA East Preliminary Round in Bloomington, Ind. from May 26-28 at Indiana University’s Robert C. Haugh Track & Field Complex. Jacksonville, the 2011 A-Sun Champions, led the way with seven qualifiers, while UNF, ETSU and Kennesaw State earned spots.

JU’s Danielle Davenport claimed the top qualifying spot in 11th for the 400-meter dash and is joined in the event by three others; Briana Frazier (UNF; No. 19), Unique Singleton (JU; No. 21) and Jasmine Ingram (ETSU; No. 35). The sprint runs at 6:30 p.m. on Thursday, May 26th.

Teammates Joane Pierre and Bienna Freeman represent the Dolphins in the 800m run (Thu., 7:30 p.m.) with the 27th and 35th best times in the East Region, while UNF’s Shelby Kittrell and Kennesaw State’s Mackenzie Howe run at 8:30 p.m. on Thursday in the 10,000m run. ETSU’s Emani Harrison runs at 5:30 on Thursday in the 100m dash with the 39th best time.

On Friday, JU’s Ronnisha Hall starts off the day for the A-Sun in the shot put at 1 p.m., while fellow Dolphins Stacey Young competes at 4:30 in the 100m hurdles. Ecaterina Gheorghiu from UNF finishes the day in the 3,000m steeplechase at 8:30.

Jacksonville’s 4x400m team wraps up the regional qualifiers with the 18th best time in the relay, which is set for 9:45 p.m. on Saturday.

Live results and video can be found on

Atlantic Sun Conference Qualifiers
- Jasmine Ingram: No. 35 - 400m Dash - 54.15 - Thursday 6:30 p.m.
- Emani Harrison: No. 39 - 100m Dash - 11.63 - Thursday 5:30 p.m.

- Danielle Davenport: No. 11 - 400m Dash - 53.53 - Thursday 6:30 p.m.
- 4x400m Relay Team: No. 18 - 3:39.18 - Saturday 9:45 p.m.
- Unique Singleton: No. 21 - 400m Dash - 53.82 - Thursday 6:30 p.m.
- Stacey Young: No. 24 - 13.43 - 100m Hurdles - Friday 4:30 p.m.
- Joane Pierre: No. 27 - 2:07.26 - 800m Run - Thursday 7:30 p.m.
- Bienna Freeman: No. 35 - 800m Dash - 2:07.87 - Thursday 7:30 p.m.
- Ronnisha Hall: No. 43 - 14.81m - Shot Put - Friday 1 p.m.

Kennesaw State:
- Mackenzie Howe: No. 29 - 10,000m Run - 34:52.16 - Thursday 8:30 p.m.

- Briana Frazier: No. 19 - 400m Dash - 53.78 - Thursday 6:30 p.m.
- Ecaterina Gheorghiu: No. 27 - 3,000m Steeplechase - 10:30.38 - Friday 8:30 p.m.
- Shelby Kittrell: No. 28 - 34:50.98 - 10,000m Run - Thursday 8:30 p.m.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun stands for achievement with integrity in both the academic and athletic arenas, with a focus on the balance between the two for our student-athletes. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.