Atlantic Sun Summer Sessions: Women's Soccer

Friday, July 06, 2012

MACON, Ga. - Three teams stood at the top of the Atlantic Sun women’s soccer ledger at the end of the regular season as FGCU, Jacksonville and ETSU tied for the A-Sun crown. The Eagles would host the 2011 Atlantic Sun Championship for the first time in program history at the FGCU Soccer Complex.

The defensive line for the Eagles dominated league play and allowed only one goal during the regular season, which came during the final match of the year. Led by the 2010 and 2011 A-Sun Defensive Players of the Year, KC Correllus and goalkeeper Stephanie Powers, FGCU posted 12 shutouts - the third-most in A-Sun history.

Jacksonville – the host of the 2010 A-Sun Championship – posted a 7-1-1 conference record to tie the Buccaneers and Eagles for the regular-season crown. Guided by seniors Jessica Hurtado and Liz Fink – multiple-time all-conference members – the Dolphins made their eighth-straight appearance in the A-Sun Championship, which is the longest current streak in the conference.

Under new head coach, Adam Sayers, ETSU posted the most successful season in program history as the Bucs set records for wins (12), conference wins (7), goals (43) and points (118). The A-Sun Player of the Year, Genna Petersen tallied 11 goals and five assists, while the A-Sun Freshman of the Year – Jenna Caudle – added to the Buccaneers attack with 10 goals.

FGCU captured the A-Sun Championship title with a 1-0 double-overtime victory vs. Mercer – the defending champions – and in the process set the Eagle program record for wins (14). The championship victory made the Eagles the first team to win the A-Sun title in their first year of postseason eligibility since Kennesaw State in 2007.

The successful season on the pitch for several A-Sun squads translated to an overall improvement for the conference as the A-Sun jumped five spots in the NCAA Conference RPI rankings to No. 22.

The Atlantic Sun remained in the women’s soccer national spotlight until early December as Kennesaw State hosted the 2011 NCAA Women’s College Cup at the 8,300 seat, KSU Stadium.

Nearly 20,000 fans entered the gates of the Owls home pitch to watch the semifinal and championship matches as the Kennesaw State facility was on full display on ESPN3 and ESPNU.

Additional Notes:
• Five Soccer student-athletes earned NSCAA All-Region honors at the end of the 2011 season. FGCU's KC Correllus earned second team honors, while ETSU's Genna Petersen and Jenna Caudle joined Mercer's Olivia Tucker and Jacksonville's Liz Fink on the third team.
• Six student-athletes were tabbed Capital One Academic All-District members as Lipscomb University teammates Danielle Bethke and Kristen Heikkinen earned First Team honors in District 3, while Florida Gulf Coast University’s Jennifer Crittenberger and Gina Petracco joined Mercer University’s Olivia Tucker as First Team selections in District 4. FGCU’s Brittany Burt earned District 4 Second Team honors.
• FGCU’s Petracco was named the A-Sun Scholar-Athlete of the Year - an award in its first year of existence.
• FGCU’s Stephanie Powers finished her four-year career with the third-lowest goal against average in A-Sun history at 0.71 and first for most career shutouts at 31.
• Mercer’s Olivia Tucker joined FGCU’s KC Correllus and Jacksonville’s Jessica Hurtado as four-time A-Sun All-Conference members, which has only been accomplished by six others in league history.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.