A-Sun Sets New High in All-Academic Achievement

Thursday, June 28, 2012

MACON, Ga. – More than 64 percent of the student-athletes in the Atlantic Sun Conference posted a 3.0 grade point average or better during the 2012-13 competition season, including 73 percent of Stetson University student-athletes as the Hatters claim their first A-Sun Academic title.

"I applaud all who continue to successfully achieve as student-athletes," said A-Sun Commissioner Ted Gumbart. "To see nearly two-thirds of our student-athletes earn this level of academic distinction means that they certainly are committed to the A-Sun's mission of 'Building Winners for Life.' It is important to recognize that this is a team effort, due to the commitment of the athletic administration, coaches and staff of our member institutions, who daily serve as the catalysts for such impressive development of our young people. Congratulations and thank you again to the teams and to each student-athlete for providing such an outstanding representation of the Atlantic Sun Conference."

A total of 41 student-athletes earned Presidential Scholar recognition by completing their eligibility with a GPA of 3.8 or better. Among this elite group of scholars, eight received their undergraduate degrees while maintaining a perfect 4.0 GPA including volleyball Player of the Year Katie Rose from Lipscomb University. Others with a perfect 4.0 GPA include: Mercer’s Christian Kivi (Cross Country) and Jennifer Lada (Women’s Tennis); Stetson’s Maria Harper (Cross Country) and J.R. Weston (Men’s Basketball); and three others from Lipscomb including Brittany Duerk (Women’s Basketball), Kirsten Keikkinen (Women’s Soccer) and Ashley Lehman (Women’s Cross Country).

Another 46 student-athletes claimed Commissioner Scholar recognition for landing between the 3.6 and 3.79 GPA status upon graduation.

Conference Scholar recognition was bestowed on another 406 individuals for their sustained achievement over at least two years to go with a 3.4 mark or better.

The A-Sun recognized 1,416 student-athletes as All-Academic selections for their work in the classroom by reaching the 3.0 mark, also up from last year by 84. Additionally, 89 percent of the A-Sun’s 18 championship teams had at least half of the student-athletes on their rosters earn All-Academic recognition.

Four institutions eclipsed the 70 percent mark for All-Academic selections led by Belmont University who took home the Academic Trophy with over 76 percent of their student-athletes earning recognition. Lipscomb’s 185 total honorees were the most in the conference and their 74 percent mark the second best while Mercer (73%) and Stetson (71%) student-athletes excelled above the 70 percent barrier as well.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.