Atlantic Sun Summer Sessions: Outdoor Track & Field

Monday, July 16, 2012

MACON, Ga. – North Florida’s Hodges Stadium was the arena for the nation’s top collegiate Outdoor Track & Field student-athletes as UNF hosted the 2012 Atlantic Sun Championship as well as the NCAA East Preliminary Round.

The three-day NCAA meet showcased 29 A-Sun student-athletes with the top performances coming from North Florida’s Brianna Frazier (400-meter), Kennesaw State’s Kendall Parks (110m Hurdles). The duo joined Jacksonville’s Charlene Charles (Heptathlon) at the NCAA Championship for which she qualified for earlier in the season.

In Des Moines, Iowa at the NCAA Championship meet, Frazier turned in a ninth-place finish in the 400m with a time of 52.40, while Charles accumulated 5,477 points – good for 15th. Their standout performances earned them USTFCCCA All-America Honors. Parks finished 18th at the NCAA meet to bring his outstanding collegiate career to an end.

Earlier in the season at Hodges Stadium, ETSU and Jacksonville won the 2012 A-Sun Outdoor Track & Field Championship team titles. For JU, it was the Dolphins’ seventh-straight outdoor title, while the Bucs edged out Kennesaw State by 2.5 points – the smallest margin of victory in conference history.

For ETSU, the victory was extra sweet as the Buccaneers sent long-time Head Coach Dave Walker out with his third A-Sun outdoor title in his 50-plus-year career. Walker retired at the end of the season and was recently inducted in the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame.

On the men’s side, KSU’s freshman Andre Dorsey was named the Championship Most Outstanding Performer as he amassed the most points amongst his competition. Dorsey was also later voted the Most Outstanding Freshman Performer. Jacksonville’s Akeela Bravo racked up the most points on the women’s side to claim the Women’s Championship Most Outstanding Performer honor. She also was named the Most Outstanding Field Performer.

KSU’s Parks and USC Upstate’s Kenneth Sugishita were named the Most Outstanding Track/Field Performers, respectively. UNF’s Frazier earned the Most Outstanding Track Performer on the women’s side, while Lipscomb’s Kendra Lobley was award the top freshman honor.

Additional Notes:
• North Florida’s Brianna Frazier competed at the U.S.Olympic Trials in June in the 400-meter dash and came away with a 21st place finish and a time of 54.33.
• ETSU’s K’Vonte Scott and Adam Chase joined Jacksonville’s Shanique and Courtney Walker in competition at the USA Junior Outdoor Track & Field Championships. Shanique Walker earned two top-10 finishes (100m Hurdles; Triple Jump), while Scott placed fifth in the decathlon.
• USC Upstate’s Gilbert Kemboi was named the A-Sun Men’s Outdoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year – an award in its first year of existence. Kemboi received the same award for cross country and indoor track & field.
• Kennesaw State’s Christie Leverette earned the same title on the women’s side after posting a 4.0 GPA as Integrative Studies major and recording two top-two finishes at the A-Sun Championship.
• Jacksonville’s seventh-straight A-Sun women’s title set the conference record for longest streak. The Dolphins now only trail UCF’s eight A-Sun outdoor titles for most in A-Sun history.
• ETSU won its third A-Sun Outdoor title, which tied Kennesaw State for most amongst active members. The Bucs and Owls have combine to win each of the last six titles.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.