ETSU Heads to #ASunMSoc Championship Final With 1-0 Win

Friday, November 15, 2013

FORT MYERS, Fla. - Second-seeded ETSU secured a 1-0 victory over third-seeded Lipscomb in the Atlantic Sun Championship Semifinal to earn its third trip to the A-Sun Championship Final.

The first half saw only one shot by Lipscomb and five by ETSU, none connecting.

In the 53rd minute William Nordenstrom found the ball on his boot at the top of the six yard box after a shot by David Geno rebound off Lipscomb's Micah Bledsoe. Nordenstrom finished the shot in left corner of the net to give the Bucs the 1-0 lead in the match.

 Atlantic Sun Insider: ETSU's Senior Itode Fubara Exemplifies CLASS

Lipscomb had a few chances to come back with a shot by Troy Barr wide right in the 60th minute, a header by Reece Holcombe in the 80th minute going wide left and the last attempts Lipscomb had were a pair of desperation shots in the 87th and 88th minutes of the match, but ultimately fell short 1-0.

ETSU's goalkeeper Ryan Coulter collected the his tenth shutout of the season, setting a new A-Sun record for most shutouts in a season. This marked Coulter's 25th career shutout.

The Buccaneers will face the winner the second semifinal match between No. 1 FGCU and No. 5 North Florida. The championship match is set for Sunday, November 17th at 1 p.m. EST and will be broadcast on ESPN3.

The Bucs last championship final appearance was in 2011 when they fell 1-0 to FGCU. The Buccaneers won the A-Sun Championship in 2010 with a 2-1 victory vs. Mercer in Johnson City, Tenn.