Jones, Ocejo Tabbed Senior CLASS Candidates

Tuesday, September 18, 2012

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. - FGCU's Deion Jones and Stetson's Luis Ocejo were two of 30 NCAA Division I men's soccer players in the nation to be selected as a candidate for the 2012 Senior CLASS Award, announced on Tuesday morning. To be eligible for the honor each student-athlete has to have notable achievements in the community, the classroom, character, and competition, focusing on the total student-athlete.

Ocejo has excelled both on and off the field during his four seasons at Stetson. Last year he was named Atlantic Sun Conference Defensive Player of the Year, but his desire to succeed was evident off the soccer field as well. Ocejo has been superior in the classroom, holding a 3.8 GPA and earning numerous accolades including CoSIDA Academic All-District and NSCAA Third Team All-America Scholar.

Also a member of the Roland George Investments Program at Stetson, Ocejo spends much of his free time helping others. Whether it is volunteering at a nursing home whenever he returns to his home in Mexico, or coaching the children of Central Florida at various soccer camps and events, he has made a point to give back to the community.

Jones holds a 3.42 GPA as a dual major in Biology and Environmental Studies. He was named to the Inaugural Atlantic Sun Academic All-Conference team in 2011 and earned ESPN Academic All-District 3 second honors as a sophomore in 2010. He is a three-time A-Sun All-Academic honoree.

Leading by example on the field and off, Jones is a three-year Eagles Council (SAAC) member, serving as the Vice President in 2011-12 and the President for his upcoming senior year/ He also represents FGCU’s student-athletes on the Ethnic Diversity Committee, gathering information from fellow student-athletes in terms of viewpoints and experiences. He also served as the Vice President (2010-11) and President (2011-12) of the Phi Eta Sigma Honor Society and he will be a team co-captain for the upcoming 2012 season.

Each of the 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists through the 2012 regular season. Those finalists will be put on a ballot for media, coaches and fans to vote on, as one candidate will eventually be recognized with the Senior CLASS Award for excellence in the community, the classroom, character, and competition.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.