UNF Surges But ETSU Remains in Front After Day Two

Tuesday, April 20, 2010

BRASELTON, Ga. – A furious second round rally by No. 20 UNF helped the Ospreys tighten up the team race against No. 31 and tournament leader ETSU at the 2010 Atlantic Sun Men’s Golf Championship.

The Bucs held on to their lead but saw it cut dramatically as they battled an on-and-off rain to hold a three-stroke advantage heading into the final round on the Legends at Chateau Elan. Three ETSU players currently reside in the top five led by junior Rhys Enoch who posted an even par 72 on day two to retain a share of the individual lead.

Kevin Phelan and Joe Byun led the UNF resurgence. The duo combined to shoot 5-under par with Phelan recording the lone round in the 60’s, a 3-under par 69, to vault into a tie for first place with Enoch. Both players cruised around the course despite the wet conditions carding bogey-free rounds. Seniors Jordan Gibb and J.C. Horne each added even-par rounds to bolster the Ospreys.

FGCU moved into sole possession of third place and will join the two nationally-ranked programs in the final group on Wednesday after posting the second-best team score of the day, a 1-over par 289. A pair of back nine birdies helped Patrick Williams card a 1-under par 71 for the Eagles while Michael Hart used an eagle at the par-5 14th hole, the lone eagle turned on Tuesday, to move into a tie for eighth at 1-over par.

On the individual leaderboard, ETSU’s Paul O’Kane fired his second straight 1-under par 71 to move into third place while Jacksonville’s Bobby Fredeking finished at 1-under par as well to climb four spots into a tie for fourth with day one co-leader Seamus Power who ended the second round with a 74 and two-day total of 1-under par 143.

The players seemed to take advantage of soft greens due to the rain and accessible hole locations to shave over a stroke off the field’s scoring average from the previous day.

Plenty remains at stake heading into tomorrow’s final round. ETSU will be looking to maintain its stranglehold on Medalist honors as the Bucs aim for their fourth straight individual title. Both the Bucs and Ospreys sit in prime position to claim a second conference title for their programs.

Final round play takes place on Wednesday with teams teeing off on both No. 1 and No. 10 starting at 8:00am. Follow the scores at GolfStat.com.

Fans can follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and on Facebook. Visit twitter.com/AtlanticSun to begin receiving updates on conference news, weekly awards, and from A-Sun championships. Atlantic Sun followers with a Facebook account can become a "fan" of the conference by visiting facebook.com/AtlanticSunConference.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun stands for achievement with integrity in both the academic and athletic arenas, with a focus on the balance between the two for our student-athletes. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.