Men's #ASunXC Championship on the Horizon

Thursday, October 31, 2013

MACON, Ga. - Atlantic Sun Men's Cross Country squads have prepared all year for this moment as they head into the A-Sun Championship in Nashville, Tennessee on the Vaughn's Gap Course at Percy Warner Park.

Lipscomb is the host of the 2013 A-Sun Championship. The Bisons sit on top of the most recent A-Sun Coaches Poll just one point ahead of ETSU.

The men's race is set to start at 9 a.m. CST on Saturday, November 2nd.

A-Sun Men's Cross Country Championship Preview (#ASunXC):

  • In the most recent U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Regional Poll the Bisons rank No. 6 in the South, while the Buccaneers come in at No. 10 in the region.
  • USC Upstate is the two-time defending A-Sun Champion after winning the team title in 2011 and 2012. The Spartans were the last team to win an A-Sun Championship on the Vaughn's Gap Course with their victory in the 2011 championship.
  • The Spartans are the only team not from Tennessee to win the A-Sun Championship in Nashville.
  • LU is No. 1 in the latest A-Sun Coaches Poll with 90 points, while ETSU sits just one point behind at No. 2 with 89 points. North Florida (78), FGCU (66) and Upstate (57) round off the top-five in the poll.
  • Northern Kentucky's J.J. Webber claimed four A-Sun Runner of the Week Honors this season. Webber is the first men's cross country harrier to earn four weekly accolades in one season.
  • The Spartans and Kennesaw State hold the crown to the last four A-Sun Championships.
  • ETSU's Fillip Jalovy was the 2011 A-Sun Freshman of the Year and has made the first-team selection in the last two championships.
  • Only five of the top 14 runners return from the 2012 A-Sun Championship. NKU's Webber and the Bucs' Jalovy are the only returning harriers that have collected first-team honors.
  • Jalovy grabbed the fastest time in the 2012 A-Sun Championship of the returning harriers as he finished in third-place with a time of 24:28.20, while Webber finished only seven seconds behind in sixth-place.
  • The Bisons secured three of the five runners that comprised the 2012 All-Freshmen team.
  • FGCU finished in fourth-place in the 2012 A-Sun Championship after finishing in eighth-place in the three championships prior.
  • The Owls have finished in the top-four in every A-Sun Championship since joining the league in 2005.