ETSU Defeats North Florida in Nail-Biter, 68-66

Thursday, March 01, 2012

MACON, Ga. - ETSU and North Florida went down to the wire in the 2012 General Shale Atlantic Sun Men's Basketball Championship, but the Buccaneers prevailed in the end, 68-66. The Bucs' senior forward Isiah Brown led the way with 22 points - his third-straight 20-point game - and added three rebounds and two blocks.

The key play late in the game came from Brown as he blocked UNF's Parker Smith three-point attempt with ETSU clinging to a 66-64 advantage. Brown's block led to a fastbreak by teammate Marcus Dubose for a layup and four-point ETSU lead. His block also set the ETSU program record for career swatted shots at 182, which also ranks fifth-best in A-Sun history.

Smith finished with 17 points to lead the Ospreys on 5-of-17 from behind the arc. Jerron Granberry and Jimmy Williams added 12 and 10 points, respectively, for North Florida.

The A-Sun Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Adam Sollazzo contributed 13 points with four assists and was joined in double-digit points by Dubose (13) and Tommy Hubbard (11). Hubbard picked his third double-double of the season with 10 rebounds. It is also the 19th of his career, which is tied for 14th-most in conference history. Hubbard neared a triple-double with six steals - a career-high for the senior.

Read the Atlantic Sun Insider Column: ETSU Seniors Survive for Another Day

ETSU advances to Friday's 6 p.m. ET semifinal contest where they face top-seeded and defending A-Sun Champions, Belmont.

Follow all the 2012 General Shale Atlantic Sun Men's Basketball action on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.