A-Sun/CSS Agree to Expand Championship Coverage

Tuesday, January 22, 2008

MACON, Ga. - The Atlantic Sun Conference and Comcast/Charter Sports Southeast (CSS) reached an agreement to broadcast four additional games at the General Shale Brick Atlantic Sun Basketball Championships from Lipscomb's Allen Arena. In addition to carrying the championship on Saturday, March 8 at 2:00pm Eastern, CSS has agreed to carry two women's quarterfinal games and both semifinal games.

“We are very pleased to expand our tournament television coverage with CSS,” Atlantic Sun Conference Commissioner Ted Gumbart said. “The spotlight on college basketball peaks at tournament times and the competition brings out the best in the teams.”

With the added coverage, CSS will carry nine of the 14 Championship contests – four men’s games and five women’s games, up from five in 2007. Friday, March 7 will now feature a quadruple-header of General Shale Brick Atlantic Sun Basketball Championship games, starting at 1:00pm with the first women’s semifinal. The second semifinal airs 30 minutes after the completion of game one. The day of basketball concludes with the two men’s semifinal games, starting at 7:00pm with the final semifinal game also 30 minutes upon the conclusion of game one.

“The four additional women’s games allow us to showcase the outstanding student-athletes in the Atlantic Sun and we thank our title sponsor General Shale Brick and our television partners at CSS for the opportunity to share our championship action with fans throughout the southeast,” Gumbart said.

CSS is a 24-hour regional sports network serving approximately 5.7 million cable subscribers across twelve southeastern states. Launched in 1999, the network is a partnership between Comcast Corporation and Charter Communications. CSS carries a full slate of college sports programming, including over 50 live football games, 110 college football replay games, more than 180 men’s and women’s live college basketball games, and 40 live baseball games, as well as a comprehensive mix of sports news and in-depth sports analysis geared toward fans in the Southeast. CSS is only available on cable.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is a 12-member league committed to Building Winners for Life, with a focus on academic and athletic integrity and a balance between the two for the student-athlete, and maintaining a high level of sportsmanship. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun encompasses six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun consists of some of the most dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Gardner-Webb University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.