Chriscaden Ties RBI Record as KSU Advances to Final

Saturday, May 26, 2012

DeLand, Fla. – Kennesaw State first baseman Andy Chriscaden tied an Atlantic Sun Conference Baseball Championships record Saturday afternoon, becoming the first player in 29 years to drive in seven runs in a single game and leading the third-seeded Owls (34-24) to a 13-4 victory over fourth-seeded FGCU (26-31). With the win, KSU advances to face top-seeded defending champion Belmont at 5:20 pm for the A-Sun title.

Chriscaden, a Second Team All-Atlantic Sun honoree, became the first player in this year’s tournament to hit a ball out of Melching Field at Conrad Park, connecting on a grand slam to left center field in the bottom of the first to stake Kennesaw State to a quick 4-0 advantage. The Owls would go on to score in six of their eight turns at bat; Chriscaden added a two-run triple in the fifth and an RBI groundout in the seventh inning to become the first player since Mercer’s Mark Helsel in 1983 with seven RBI in an A-Sun tournament contest.

First Team All-Atlantic Sun third baseman Aaron Dobbs, shortstop Peyton Hart and second baseman Andy Almonte all finished with two hits and an RBI each for the Owls. FGCU’s A-Sun All-Freshman Team left fielder Brady Anderson went three for four while first baseman Sean Dwyer was two for five with a three-run double in the ninth inning to draw the Eagles within 13-4. FGCU shortstop Brandon Bednar got the Eagles on the scoreboard with an RBI single in the top of the fourth inning.

Travis Dean earned the win for the Owls, allowing just one run on six hits and two walks in eight innings with one strikeout. Brandon Bixler struck out six in 3.1 innings to start for FGCU, but was charged with the loss.

Kennesaw State faces Belmont at 5:20 pm in a winner-take-all contest with the A-Sun tournament title and an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament on the line. The Owls are seeking their first NCAA Division I postseason appearance while the Bruins look for their second straight A-Sun tournament crown.

Follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.